top of page

Our Recent Posts

Archive

Tags

No tags yet.

Week 5

By week 5 I am starting to lose track of what day it is. The days are long but the weeks go by fast.

The raining season has officially started which means it downpours late at night/early morning and usually causes power outages. But the plus side is that it's a lot cooler during the day.

I did a lot of exciting things this week. I rode a piki-piki for the first time, which is a motorcycle taxi. I was quite hesitant at first because the passenger doesn't have helmets but the streets were empty so I felt safe enough. I also tried ugali and beans for the first time which is the staple Tanzanian meal. Ugali is a thick porridge that Tanzanians typically eat with beans or fish. I'm not a big fan, but it was a worth the try. I finally found a good circle of friends because during the first few weeks I felt pretty isolated from the people I was working with. But I found friends with similar interests and personalities as me that has made my experience so much better thus far.


bottom of page