top of page

Our Recent Posts

Archive

Tags

No tags yet.

Week 1


I have officially been here for one week! I had a long journey from Toronto > Addis Abada > Dar es Salaam > Kigoma. Tanzania is beautiful, I live right along Lake Tanganyika the world's longest freshwater lake where the sunsets are gorgeous. The food here is incredibly cheap and delicious, a typical Tanzanian meal is rice, beans, fish, and vegetables which costs around $5000 TZS ($3 CAD). It's a huge adjustment from Toronto where everything is open late and there's always something to do. It's a much quieter life here but I plan to fill it with a lot of reading, writing, painting, running and going to the beach. I'm slowly starting to pick up some Swahili, I know a few words like "asante" which means thank you and "moja" which means one. There have been a few obstacles since I moved here like breaking my phone, getting sick on the 3rd day and dealing with getting a new work permit. However, I'm slowly adjusting to life here and I think I could get used to it for the next 8 and a half months.


bottom of page